⊱✿ Taking care of my own self ✿⊰


self-care

 [selfkair] 

noun

care of the self without medical or other professional consultation.

 

“self-care” is sooooo important and I don’t realize until it’s too late, that I need to replenish….especially when in full-time ministry or service type jobs. I get crabby, edgy, irritable and terribly impatient and self-absorbed.  I’m still learning the art of “self-care”….but two things are certain for me to have the energy and spiritual nourishment to continue to pour into others:

#1 – God’s Word – I heard an awesome message from Jackie Kendall a few years ago (she’s crazy about Jesus and about God’s Word). She challenged us to get in the Word for at least 7 minutes a day….you may think “oh that’s not near enough time for me)…but can we just be real for just a minute? Please tell me I’m not the only one who has to hunt for my Bible at least a couple of times a week/month because I haven’t actually opened it in a few days? I read online a lot, but there’s just nothing quite like reading highlighted passages that have already spoken to my heart and finding new nuggets of truth that sooth my soul.

psalm 36

#2 – Unplug – like from everything….phone, computer, tv, kindle, iPad (all electronic devices) This. Is. Not. Easy. There’s nothing quite like being in the woods with no cell service to force a girl to unplug.  I was forced to unplug a week ago when I spent the weekend with my soul-sisters.  I left feeling full and refreshed because of the long visit with women who love The Lord their God with ALL their heart and soul….and would never judge me, only giving large doses of unconditional love and loads of grace.  No cell service, no internet.  Just us.  We leaned in close, listened long and talked until the early morning hours….then got up and did it all again the next day.

10352277_10152252609457338_2345638645554624384_n

Take care of YOU this weekend and do something to refill, recharge and sooth your soul, so you have the energy and fullness to pour into others and do what God called you to do!

His grateful girl,

Becky

2 thoughts on “⊱✿ Taking care of my own self ✿⊰

Leave a Reply

