Can I get ya some big girl panties?


Those who know me…as well as my daughters, know that when I get frustrated with my girls or those in the program at SG….I will not hesitate to tell them to “put on their big girl panties and deal with it like an adult”…among other things.

262c211825d04886b28d100d12dbc64b

However, I’ve spent a little time over the last few days praying about some things (a few precious girls…including daughters) and as I have…this common phrase I use, continues to rattle around in my head.  However, I’m fully aware that it really does no good to encourage good behavior…instead it probably hurts feelings and promotes rolling of the eyes….which leads me to more sarcastic “mama” remarks “yours truly”.

When I was reading this morning in the Psalms…I glanced at the bottom of the page, where (in my Bible), Bishop TD Jakes has written little pearls of wisdom. This is what I read:

“Part of your maturity–part of your growing up to be God’s woman–is to draw a line between the unwashed, unsalted, unswaddled, cord-bound baby that you were, and the mature, ornamented, breasted woman in Christ that you are”

~Bishop TD Jakes

One of my precious girls has been under incredible spiritual attack over the last few years….I’ve watched and my soul has ached to the point that I had to remind myself to breathe.  Now, as shame has placed it’s ugly crown upon her head….and.she.wears.it….as if she has no choice.  I cry out to God on her behalf, watching her kick and scream and fight Him almost with every step….I see the struggle soften…less violently obvious as she tires from the battle.  People can be mean…cruel and my mama claws want to come out!  She has responded by behaving badly.  The war rages on for her very soul…and even though my heart knows without a doubt this is a spiritual battle…I get frustrated and want to scream “get a big fat grip and put on her big girl panties!”

Then I remember….and see my breathtaking warrior princess.

Ephesians 6:12

For our battle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities,against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens.

b0203c1183f753c6e0da5aa2db3517d6

Do I really want her to have on “big girl panties” for the battle?  No, no, NO!  I want her clothed in righteousness!  I want my baby girl ready for the battle…not focused on her panties!  I pray in my sarcasm I have not shifted her focus and gotten her distracted by my own inward self centeredness!

Ephesians 6:10-18

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.   For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.   Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,  and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.   In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.  And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

1236115_10153159358150461_328310338_n

I spoke to a friend tonight regarding serious and very obvious spiritual attack on our families (great physical attack from the spiritual realm)….not trying to be freaky here, just….WOW!  God used our little girls creating a big fat paint and glitter mess to bring us together to love and encourage each other in spirit. and. truth.  Oh sweet friends, we must be kind to each other…we must be good to each other.  Reach out.  I promise the stupid devil didn’t want us to speak tonight….and yet God allowed the connection and it was exactly what I needed.  I pray it was for her as well.

I love how my friend Keri put it….we need to “lock shields”, there is so much power when we take a stand together against the war raging on for our families, our children, our marriages.

Don’t we want our daughters to do more than put on their big girl panties?  Don’t we want them equipped with more?  And –Oh how I want them to have their very own “brave girl boots” as Melody Ross so graciously puts it!

3a5d4e483332d8c25da414ed03837f90

Here’s how Melody put it…..Everyone woman in the whole wide world needs a safe place to go to figure things out…a place where they are loved, and accepted and held sacred just because they are alive…a place where the lights are on so you can step out of the dark….a place where you can take off your masks and your armor and just be… EVERYONE needs this…..that’s why we made Brave Girl’s Club…we wanted to make a place where you could show up and be loved no matter what….(melody ross – brave girls club)

I want my girls to be brave, I want to be brave, I want you to be brave.  We can be so much more brave together…locking shields, throwing ourselves at the feet of Jesus and crying out for protection for our children and our families!

What thing are you trying to be brave about?

Ok, I’ll go first.

I’m really trying to be brave as I watch my girls find their own brave boots and armor and stay out of God’s business with it comes to their lives, I’m trying to be brave and feel beautiful.  I’m trying to be brave as I fight to keep my marriage alive….brave enough to never quit.  I want to be brave enough to dance and to climb the rock wall at Louis and Clark in Rogers…silly I know, but I really do.  I want to be brave for my girls.  I want to be brave for my husband.  I want to be brave for the precious women who serve along side me at Saving Grace.

So again, What are you trying to be brave about?

 

One thought on “Can I get ya some big girl panties?

Leave a Reply

